Toggle Contrast

About Us

Children and Social Work Act (2017) abolished Local Safeguarding Children Boards and introduced new arrangements that places shared and equal duties on the local authority, the Police and the Clinical Commissioning Group to safeguard and promote the welfare of children in their local area.

The revised Statutory Guidance Working Together to Safeguarding Children (2018), brings together Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council (SMBC) (with Sandwell Children’s Trust delivering services on their behalf), Sandwell Clinical Commissioning Group and West Midlands Police as the key statutory safeguarding partners who have equal responsibility for the Multi-Agency Safeguarding Arrangements in Sandwell.

In consultation with the other partners as relevant agencies; such as health providers, schools and education settings, probation providers, the voluntary/community sector, and others, have agreed and launched the new multi-agency safeguarding arrangements and structure for Sandwell Children’s Safeguarding Partnership (SCSP) in April 2019.

This ‘Statutory SCSP’ will agree on ways to co-ordinate the safeguarding services; act as a strategic leadership in supporting and engaging others; implement local and national learning including serious child safeguarding incidents, improve local safeguarding arrangements and hold each other to account as to how they are keeping children safe.

Sandwell Children’s Safeguarding Partnership (SCSP) undertakes the work of the formerly Sandwell Safeguarding Children Board (SSCB) with the aim to ensure all children in Sandwell are safe, happy, healthy and achieving.

Please visit our website for more information on what SCSP does: https://www.sandwellcsp.org.uk/. This site provides information for the public, children, young people, parents, carers and professionals.

You can also make further enquiries via the SCSP Business Team:

Business Manager

Gillian Ming – gillian_ming@sandwellchildrenstrust.org  Tele: 07767 614595

Safeguarding Practice & Quality Review Officer

Lucy Edwards – lucy_edwards@sandwellchildrenstrust.org

Learning & Development Coordinator

Holly Bramley – holly_bramley@sandwellchildrenstrust.org

Practice Development Coordinator

Jade Maynard – jade_maynard@sandwellchildrenstrust.org

Business Support Administrator

Karina Turner – karina_turner@sandwellchildrenstrust.org

General enquiries: SCSP@sandwell.gov.uk

SCSP Chair and Executive Director of Children’s Services

Lesley Hagger – lesley_hagger@sandwell.gov.uk